

## **GOVERNING BOARD**

Chris Vierra, Chair Councilmember, City of Ceres

Tony Barba, Vice Chair Supervisor, Kings County

**David G. Ayers** Councilmember, City of Hanford

Judith G. Case Supervisor, Fresno County

**Ronn Dominici** Supervisor, Madera County

Henry Jay Forman, Ph.D. Appointed by Governor

**Jesus J. Gamboa**Councilmember, City of Visalia

Ann Johnston Mayor, City of Stockton

Randy Miller Councilmember, City of Taft

Michael G. Nelson Supervisor, Merced County

William O'Brien
Supervisor, Stanislaus County

**Leroy Ornellas** Supervisor, San Joaquin County

John G. Telles, M.D.
Appointed by Governor

Raymond A. Watson Supervisor, Kern County

J. Steven Worthley Supervisor, Tulare County

Seyed Sadredin

Executive Director
Air Pollution Control Officer

Northern Region Office 4800 Enterprise Way Modesto, CA 95356-8718 (209) 557-6400 • FAX (209) 557-6475

Central Region Office 1990 East Gettysburg Avenue Fresno, CA 93726-0244 (559) 230-6000 • FAX (559) 230-6061

Southern Region Office 34946 Flyover Court Bakersfield, CA 93308-9725 (661) 392-5500 • FAX (661) 392-5585

## **Agenda**

## **ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE ADVISORY GROUP (EJAG)**

San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District
CENTRAL REGION OFFICE
Governing Board Room
1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno, CA.

Monday, October 19, 2009 11:00 a.m.

The Environmental Justice Advisory Group Meeting will be held at the following locations:

- Central Region Office (Governing Board Room, 1990 E. Gettysburg Avenue, Fresno)
- Southern Region Office (34946 Flyover Court, VTC Room, Bakersfield)
- Northern Region Office (4800 Enterprise Way, VTC Room, Modesto)

All meeting attendees are advised that all pagers, cellular telephones, laptops and any other electronic devices should be powered off upon entering the Governing Board Room and VTC Rooms, as these devices interfere with our audio equipment.

Any member of the public may address the Environmental Justice Advisory Group during both the public comment period and on any scheduled item on the agenda. Comments are limited to a maximum of three minutes per speaker unless, for good cause, the Chair grants a longer period of time.

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. ROLL CALL
- APPROVE MINUTES OF MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 21, 2009
- 4. Public Comments (First Opportunity) This time is made available for comments from the public on matters that are not on the Agenda. It is requested that no comments be made during this period on items on the Agenda. The public may make comments on each EJAG Agenda Item during the time allowed for public comments. Attention is called to the fact that the EJAG is prohibited by law from taking any action on matters discussed that are not on the Agenda.

- 5. CHAIR COMMENTS
- 6. Addressing Barriers to Participation in the EJAG Catherine Garoupa
  - a. PROVIDE RECOMMENDATIONS TO DISTRICT STAFF ON WHAT THE DISTRICT CAN PROVIDE
  - b. <u>OPPORTUNITY FOR EJAG MEMBERS TO MAKE PROPOSALS FOR WAYS TO ADDRESS OR ELIMINATE THOSE BARRIERS</u>
- 7. AD-HOC COMMITTEE REPORTS
  - a. REVIEW OF DISTRICT'S EJ MAP
  - b. Public Information Requests Fee Waiver
  - c. Outreach Materials
  - d. PASS OUTREACH
- 8. Rules Under Development Scott Nester, Director of Planning
- 9. Public Comments (Second Opportunity) This time is made available for comments from the public on matters that are not on the Agenda. It is requested that no comments be made during this period on items on the Agenda. The public may make comments on each EJAG Agenda Item during the time allowed for public comments. Attention is called to the fact that the EJAG is prohibited by law from taking any action on matters discussed that are not on the Agenda.
- 10. EJAG MEMBER COMMENTS AND EJAG SUGGESTION TO BE INCLUDED IN THE PRESENTATION OF THE EJAG REPORT DURING THE CAC MEETING ON TUESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2009.
- 11. VOLUNTEER TO PRESENT EJAG REPORT DURING CAC MEETING, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2009 AT 10:00 A.M.
  - <u>NEXT MEETING</u> The next EJAG meeting is scheduled on Monday, November 16, 2009 at 5:30 p.m. Meeting held via video teleconference (VTC), with the Central Region Office (Fresno), the Northern Region Office (Modesto) and the Southern Region Office (Bakersfield) participating.

ADJOURN